Join Early Retirement Today

Fixed income
Old 10-29-2018, 05:17 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Fixed income

I'm relatively new to the concept of fixed income so I'm asking a dumb question. I have only 1 CA tax free one now.

Question: if I have 45k to stick into fixed income within an IRA, what should I look at?

gayl is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-29-2018, 05:27 PM   #2

What are your goals?
Do you need liquidity?
How safe do you want it to be?
Do you need the income?

COcheesehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 05:35 PM   #3

Goals: capital preservation?
Liquidity: not necessary
Safety: yeah, I'm slowly (underline that) moving from 90/10 equity to 70/30 mix
Income: I'll eventually need to take RMD as required by IRS but current pension meets expenses, will also get SSA as I'm not under WEP/WPO
Old 10-29-2018, 06:16 PM   #4
Recycles dryer sheets

Are you accumulating or retired? Makes a difference, I believe. And if accumulating, how close to retiring?