Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Health Savings Administrators - new custodian
Old 07-02-2012, 03:29 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,885
Health Savings Administrators - new custodian

Just got a postal letter today that Health Savings Administrators (I know many here use them) is gonna use HSA Bank as their custodian starting in August. I think this is good news and I felt a weak area with them was their statements. Plus, looks like come tax (or is it a penalty? ) time, we probably won't have to wait so long for the 1099-SA form to arrive.


Health Savings Account - HSA Administrators
__________________

__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-02-2012, 03:41 PM   #2
Moderator
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rocky Inlets
Posts: 24,445
This is news. I use HSA Bank now. What would be the advantage of using HSA Administrators instead of opening an account with HSA bank?
__________________

__________________
MichaelB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 03:46 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelB View Post
This is news. I use HSA Bank now. What would be the advantage of using HSA Administrators instead of opening an account with HSA bank?
Does HSA bank allow for 1st dollar investing in Vanguard funds? That's the main attraction to many of HSA Administrators. Rather than having to have, say $2000 in checking before investing in funds, the 1st dollar gets invested.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 06:17 PM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Onward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,665
easysurfer, thanks for the heads up.
__________________
And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know.
Onward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 06:35 PM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onward View Post
easysurfer, thanks for the heads up.
You're welcome. I went ahead and registered my new checking account with HSA Bank.

I probably won't use the checking account (it's okay there to have a zero balance), but the online access should allow me to look at statements and tax info with their online banking.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 07:43 PM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Onward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,665
I notice their annual fee for an HSA acct has just gone up to $45.
__________________
And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know.
Onward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 08:50 PM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onward View Post
I notice their annual fee for an HSA acct has just gone up to $45.
thx. I didn't even notice that.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 10:39 PM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
MooreBonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by easysurfer View Post
You're welcome. I went ahead and registered my new checking account with HSA Bank.

I probably won't use the checking account (it's okay there to have a zero balance), but the online access should allow me to look at statements and tax info with their online banking.
Unless you have some special deal with HSA Bank, their standard is to charge something like $2.25/month if you have a savings account with a balance below $3k or $5k cash.

I have an HSA account with them, but had been maxing out every year since HSAs came out, and transfer all cash into a TD Ameritrade investment account (but keep about $40 in cash to slowly deplete as I pay the $2.25/month PLUS an extra $3/month for the luxury of having an investment account...but it's probably the only company I know of that lets you maintain a true brokerage account to buy anything you want).

The sad(funny?) thing is, my returns over the past 5 years have been phenomenal with my HSA investment account, and just average with all of my other accounts. If only that had happened with my ROTH instead of my HSA!
__________________
Dryer sheets Schmyer sheets
MooreBonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 11:56 PM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by MooreBonds View Post
Unless you have some special deal with HSA Bank, their standard is to charge something like $2.25/month if you have a savings account with a balance below $3k or $5k cash.

I have an HSA account with them, but had been maxing out every year since HSAs came out, and transfer all cash into a TD Ameritrade investment account (but keep about $40 in cash to slowly deplete as I pay the $2.25/month PLUS an extra $3/month for the luxury of having an investment account...but it's probably the only company I know of that lets you maintain a true brokerage account to buy anything you want).

The sad(funny?) thing is, my returns over the past 5 years have been phenomenal with my HSA investment account, and just average with all of my other accounts. If only that had happened with my ROTH instead of my HSA!
I don't have the letter from HSA Administrators in front of me (and too tired/lazy to go to my filing cabinet and get it), but if my memory hasn't failed me, I think the minimum balance is waved for HSA Administrators customers that get transfered from the current custodian.

I beleive regular HSA Bank customers invest via TD Ameritrade. But HSA Administrators customers that get transfered can invest directly into Vanguard similar to how they do presently.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 09:17 AM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,885
Okay... I went ahead and re-read the letter I got from HSA Administrators. Yes, it directly says there is no charge to have a zero balance for those switching over from their old custodian to HSA Bank.

The change is mainly for those who use the checking/debit card feature of their HSA (from old custodian Fulton Bank to HSA Bank). For me, except for making check contributions presently made out to Fulton Bank, I assume beginning Aug 1, they'll be made out to HSA Bank. I really don't use the checking/debit card feature.

I suppose one now can carry a partial HSA balance on HSA Bank checking and a partial HSA balance on Vanguard funds. Then move dollars back and forth and use the debit/checking account to pay qualified medical expenses. But that seems like too much work to me -- one extra account to deal with.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 12:20 PM   #11
Confused about dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
The main difference between HSA Administrators and HSA Bank is that with HSA Bank you must maintain a minimum balance in the checking account (I think it's $2,000) and not with HSA Administrators, and HSA Bank does not have Vanguard Mutual Funds and HSA Administrators has 22 Vanguard funds to choose from (10 Admiral class).
__________________
kbuelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 03:40 PM   #12
Confused about dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbuelter View Post
The main difference between HSA Administrators and HSA Bank is that with HSA Bank you must maintain a minimum balance in the checking account (I think it's $2,000) and not with HSA Administrators, and HSA Bank does not have Vanguard Mutual Funds and HSA Administrators has 22 Vanguard funds to choose from (10 Admiral class).
That's not true if you have HSA Administrators with HSA Bank as the custodian. Any money I put into HSA Bank gets swept over to my vanguard funds at HSA Administrators the next day which is the way I want it. HSA Bank is a little easier to adjust automatic and one-time deposits into the HSA. I always show a $.01 account balance at HSA Bank.
__________________
NYCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 07:46 PM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
MooreBonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbuelter View Post
The main difference between HSA Administrators and HSA Bank is that with HSA Bank you must maintain a minimum balance in the checking account (I think it's $2,000) and not with HSA Administrators, and HSA Bank does not have Vanguard Mutual Funds and HSA Administrators has 22 Vanguard funds to choose from (10 Admiral class).
Not true! With HSA Bank, for an additional fee (I think $3/month), you get an investment account at TDAmeritrade, in which you can buy virtually any stock/bond/mutual fund...which might also offer commission-free Vanguard (and other) ETFs (not sure on that, but verify).

Sure, the $3/month additional fee sucks, but after several years of maxing out my HSA, my investment account dividend income far more than offsets the $3/month fee.
__________________

__________________
Dryer sheets Schmyer sheets
MooreBonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:32 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.