Join Early Retirement Today

Hiring an Adviser or not, totally confused ?
Old 01-11-2020, 07:54 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Dear Forum Members

I've posted similar thread earlier. After receiving different opinions, I'm totally confused whether it is worth to hire a Vanguard Personal service advisor with an expense of .30%. I need your help, please.

I've been investing in Vanguard since 2005. From the beginning, with my zero knowledge in investing, I started put as much money as possible into my Vanguard retirement and non-retirement funds. As a result of it, at my age of 55, I have an asset of 2.5 mln at my vanguard account with a 65/35 . My assets allocation is as follows:

Retirement funds ( IRA, Rollover IRA, SEP-IRA ) : 1.5 mln. with 50/50 of stock and bonds.
Stocks: Domestic 67%, international 37%
Bonds: 100% Taxable Bonds.

Non-Retirement account: 1 mln. with 86/12 in Stock/Bond and 2% in short term reserve.
Stocks: 82% US and 18% International
Bonds: 99% Municipal and 1% Taxable.

Mostly all my assets are in 4 Vanguard Index Funds: Total Stock Market Admiral, Total International Stock Market Admiral, Total Bond Market Admiral, Total International Bond Market Admiral. Few money are for High Yield Tax exempt, NY State Tax exempt, US Growth Index Admiral etc.

Now, I found that Vanguard changed their policy and I don't get a dedicated Flagship advisor with whom I used to talk and get some advice regarding my asset allocation. Recently, I noticed that they want me to enroll with Vanguard Personal advisory services with a charge of .30%.

At this stage, I really like to get all your input regarding this matter as Vanguard is pushing me to get this services as there is no dedicated Flagship Service representative anymore from Vanguard.

So, my questions are to you ALL ;

1. Is it worth to get Personal Advisory Services from Vanguard ?