Join Early Retirement Today

Hold TIPS in a fund or buy them direct???
Old 12-12-2004, 03:56 AM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

Hold TIPS in a fund or buy them direct???

I'm a complete novice when it comes to buying TIPS (and bonds in general actually).

I purchased some shares of Vanguard's inflation protected securities fund recently for my IRA, but I'm wondering if I should have bought the bonds directly from the Treasury. The average duration of the bonds in the TIPS fund is about 7 years if remember correctly.

What does everyone else here do?

billystu
billystu is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Re: Hold TIPS in a fund or buy them direct???
Old 12-12-2004, 04:04 AM   #2
Dryer sheet wannabe

Actually I was wrong about the average maturity-- it is 7 to 20 years. Is that too long in this rising interest rate environment, or does it matter with TIPS?

Another thing that worries me about the fund is this (from the Vanguard site):