Join Early Retirement Today

How I handle a market downturn
Old 01-07-2016, 04:31 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

How I handle a market downturn

I simply accept what it is and I do not look at my statements as much. I realize that market downturns are a part of the process. I am far from a market expert . I am no expert at all. But everyone has an opinion. Mine is I would not be the least bit surprised we enter a bear market this year. Too many moving parts and none of them are good. I think the two most important that stand out to me are rising rates and a historically high price to earnings ratio. I think we go down 20% - 30% and slowly claw are way back up. No matter what I will hold tight and ride out the storm like I always have. The storm always passes eventually. This is where nerves of steel and asset allocation are so valuable. Is this how everyone else feels about it ?

The first rule of compounding: Never interupt it unnecessarily. Charlie Munger
UnrealizedPotential is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!