Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

How to balance fear and relaxation as an early retiree
Old 03-17-2015, 01:10 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

How to balance fear and relaxation as an early retiree

Hi guys, I am not a prolific poster here on the board but will throw my 2 cents in from time to time. I plan on increasing my posts dramatically after I FIRE in just 9 short days. I have run firecalc and it gives me 100% success. I (age 49) and wife (age 47) are fortunate enough and worked hard enough to own our brand new retirement florida dream home free and clear, have 2.1M in investible assets (mostly in after tax accounts) but no pensions. Our annual expenses are calculated (and have been tracked) at 56k annual which includes about 6k allowance for "murphy" showing up and taking residence in a spare bedroom. My question I guess is how does one get used to the dual feeling of both fear and excitement and also how to let go of the purse strings a little and feel ok to spend. I look at the SWR at about 2.7% and think I am ok but when can you really relax
Quantum Sufficit is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!