Join Early Retirement Today

How to find a Fee-Based, One-Time CFP Reviewer
Old 11-17-2018, 01:57 PM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.

How to find a Fee-Based, One-Time CFP Reviewer

My wife is about to retire. I am already retired and on social security. She would like to get a one time review of our situation before committing to quitting her job.

I have been tracking our expenses for ten years at least. Our expenses are pretty accurate. When I subtract social security payments from our expenses, we are at 3.52% WR. I, especially, do not expect to live longer than 20 years.

We have some questions that she would like to hear an opinion about from someone other than me.

She wants to know if she can retire and when to take her SS. Also she would like to know which to spend down first, 401k or ordinary money.

We will use Vanguard's advice for asset allocation.

So, the actual question of this post is: How to find a CFP-type of financial planner who is a fiduciary who would give us a one-time fee-based review.

We are Googling but do not know how to interpret the results and find such a person.

Thanks,
Mike D. in Virginia

- R. Earth
MikeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!