Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
How to manually update cost/basis information at Vanguard?
Old 06-19-2006, 10:59 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,435
How to manually update cost/basis information at Vanguard?

I have a roth IRA at Vanguard that holds one of their funds. Earlier this year I transferred in the same VG fund that I had been holding in a Roth IRA at another brokerage house. The problem is that all my other VG funds give me information on the website like:

Average Cost Per Share
Total Cost of Shares
Unrealized Gain/Loss

But this information is blank for my Roth IRA. I think this is because VG doesn't know what basis to use for the shares I transferred in from the other broker. Does anyone know if it's possible to send VG this information and have them update the website? I have all the statements from the old broker to allow me to calculate the basis of the shares...the trick is just convincing VG to manually put the numbers into their database. Has anyone had success with this?
__________________

__________________
soupcxan is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Re: How to manually update cost/basis information at Vanguard?
Old 06-20-2006, 09:00 AM   #2
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 124
Re: How to manually update cost/basis information at Vanguard?

Soup,

Sorry, probably being completely dense here... but why do you need to have the cost basis info in there?* If it's a Roth isn't it all gain tax free anyway?
__________________

__________________
too cheap to even use dryer sheets - never mind recycle them!
jj is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: How to manually update cost/basis information at Vanguard?
Old 06-20-2006, 10:55 AM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
saluki9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,032
Re: How to manually update cost/basis information at Vanguard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jj
Soup,

Sorry, probably being completely dense here... but why do you need to have the cost basis info in there? If it's a Roth isn't it all gain tax free anyway?
Not if you need to take an early distribution.

If you do the basis comes out tax free
__________________
saluki9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: How to manually update cost/basis information at Vanguard?
Old 06-20-2006, 11:56 AM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,435
Re: How to manually update cost/basis information at Vanguard?

Oh, I should've said that I dont want the basis information in there because of tax reporting, I just want to know what my basis was for the purposes of tracking gain/loss quickly. So really just to have a rough idea of what I paid for all those shares.
__________________
soupcxan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
vanguard


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vanguard CEO sweats the (Internet) details... Lancelot Other topics 13 12-10-2008 06:03 PM
Opions on Vanguard recommendations yak651 Young Dreamers 13 04-03-2007 12:23 AM
Free Vanguard Plan - Opinions? Jeb-NY FIRE and Money 2 12-21-2006 04:17 PM
Fidelity vs. Vanguard getoutearly FIRE and Money 34 04-25-2006 09:11 AM
Fidelity vs vanguard customer service Roger_R FIRE and Money 9 07-01-2004 07:21 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:19 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.