Join Early Retirement Today

Old 05-09-2011, 03:35 PM   #21
Recycles dryer sheets

Perspective might be the key. We have good friends and neighbors who retired early, him at 57 and her at 60ish. They don't miss it a bit and both of them tied their identities to what they did at work.

We have other neighbors, one slightly older than me and one younger, who don't miss it a bit.

I don't think I'll miss work. As a lawyer, I'm a bit sick of the way the system has been frustrated by people who care for little except making money. I like my out of work hobbies and don't have enough time to spend on them. We have a 2d home in the mountains and when we go there for a week or two at a time, I don't miss work and don't feel unproductive. I, and my wife, sleep in a little bit (she is already retired), do a little productive work around the house and yard if we feel like it, read a lot, mess around with some of the hobbies I don't otherwise have enough time for, exercise and get frequent naps. I hate to come back. So I don't think I'll miss it.
67walkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!