If you had $5000 would you buy a CD or an I Bond?

The CD at the local bank pays 2.2% and the I Bond pays 3.3%?
Warning: I am not an expert on I-Bonds:

How did you get the 3.3% number for the I-Bond? The Treasury site shows that I-Bonds purchased today would have a rate of .3% (fixed portion of rate that doesn't change for the life of the bond) + 1.53% ( the inflation portion of the rate, which will be in place only until May, then a new rate will be announced that will affect all I-Bond that have been issued) = 1.83% total.

How long do you plan to keep this investment?

Warning: I am not an expert on I-Bonds:

How did you get the 3.3% number for the I-Bond? The Treasury site shows that I-Bonds purchased today would have a rate of .3% (fixed portion of rate that doesn't change for the life of the bond) + 1.53% ( the inflation portion of the rate, which will be in place only until May, then a new rate will be announced that will affect all I-Bond that have been issued) = 1.83% total.

How long do you plan to keep this investment?

1.53% is the inflation rate for the 03/09 to 09/09 6-month period, so the new ibonds will earn 1.53 x 2 +0.3 = 3.36%

Series I to Earn 3.36%, Series EE to Earn 1.20% Fixed Rate, When Bought from November 2009 Through April 2010

What is the maturity date on the 2.2% CD?

On order to be able to compare the ibond and 1-year CD, you have to assume that you will cash in both investments in 1 year time.

3 things to consider: 1) the withdrawal penalty on the i-bond (3-months worth of interests); The money in the ibond cannot be redeemed for at least 12 months (you can't use it for an emergency) and 3) ibonds are exempt of state income taxes.