Join Early Retirement Today

Investment for 10-15 year savings
Old 02-24-2011, 08:48 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Investment for 10-15 year savings

I am looking to invest some savings and plan to use it when the kids get older. Kids are currently 4 - 7 - 10. I already have my 6 months of expenses, retirement, and college savings all funded. This money will be used for cars for the kids, misc college expenses, daughter's wedding, etc. I've been putting $50/week away for 2 years now, and it's just in a savings account. My thought is to move it to something with a better return. I use Vanguard for some of my other investments, so I was going to do the same with this one. A few days ago, I opened a Vanguard Star account and put 3000 in it to start this. Now, after a little more reading, I am having some second thoughts because of the tax implications. Would the VTSMX, total stock market index fund be a better fit?
jdman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-24-2011, 03:53 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Quote: