Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-08-2016, 04:51 AM   #41
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
FIRE'd@51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathjak107 View Post
yes , and i can not trade at the moment .

the problem at this point is the new accounts are posted but still unfunded as the money is still in process being moved
I don't see why existing open positions (along with their margin) couldn't be transferred to the new account immediately.
__________________

__________________
I'd rather be governed by the first one hundred names in the telephone book than the Harvard faculty - William F. Buckley
FIRE'd@51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-08-2016, 04:58 AM   #42
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,316
i would think moving multiple 7 figures requires approvals up and down the line . various departments had to do their thing to . they took care of ordering new checks and debit cards on their own . .

only thing i will have to do is re-establish any direct deposits and bill pays .

i just wonder why when one of the accounts was funded they all couldn't be funded
__________________

__________________
mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 05:10 AM   #43
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
FIRE'd@51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathjak107 View Post
i would think moving multiple 7 figures requires approvals up and down the line . various departments had to do their thing to . they took care of ordering new checks and debit cards on their own . .
I would think the process would be expedited for those types of clients, lest Fido lose them to another firm.
__________________
I'd rather be governed by the first one hundred names in the telephone book than the Harvard faculty - William F. Buckley
FIRE'd@51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 05:59 AM   #44
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
FIRE'd@51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,284
I find your whole experience unnerving at best, and bordering on unbelievable at worst. IMO, this is Fido's fault - not yours nor your wife's. I would hope their SIPC along with any other insurance they have would reimburse you for any losses you sustain due to not having access to your assets for such a long time. With regard to moving securities, your account history would show if anyone made an unauthorized trade or withdrawal in the old account.

I certainly would not give Fido "kudo's" for their handling of this.
__________________
I'd rather be governed by the first one hundred names in the telephone book than the Harvard faculty - William F. Buckley
FIRE'd@51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 08:20 AM   #45
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 15,630
I think this is very suspicious - that certain people saw messages when logging in at 4:30PM or whatever on a specific day. Just doesn't smell right.

Software glitch resulting in lockout just coincidental?
__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 08:44 AM   #46
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 126
With my brokerage account....my account settings are set to : " not recognize unauthorized computers." This means that only cookies from my computer are "recognized" and can access the account ( at least as far as I understand it).

I do not access my account from any mobile device so this works for me.
__________________
MrLoco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 10:30 AM   #47
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Dawg52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central MS/Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 7,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrLoco View Post
With my brokerage account....my account settings are set to : " not recognize unauthorized computers." This means that only cookies from my computer are "recognized" and can access the account ( at least as far as I understand it).

I do not access my account from any mobile device so this works for me.
I'll have to double check to see if that is how mine is set up. I know I have seen messages from some sites(not sure if Fidelity) that pops up with the question....'computer not recognized, do you want to register it?' and that was about it. Perhaps with the new pass code feature they plan to use on certain transactions.....this will be one of those times to require it. Which would be good thing.

Edit: Fidelity does have an extra layer of protection as scrabbler1 suggested. Not thrilled with having to get a pass code every time I want to log on, but might be prudent.

https://www.fidelity.com/security/soft-tokens/overview
__________________
Retired 3/31/2007@52
Full time wuss.......
Dawg52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 10:43 AM   #48
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,729
I spoke to the Fido Frauds man and he told me Fido won't lift the lockout on my account even though I suggested several alternatives to getting my PC "professionally cleaned." One alternative was to get a unique code texted to me when I log in ("soft token") but he told me the current lockout would override this useful measure. He said I have to get the professional cleaning because other financial institutions I use online access for could be compromised. Say what? (I have had no unauthorized activity on them and I just changed my password.) Doesn't that seem a little overly paternalistic on Fidelity's part?


I was getting nowhere with this guy so I told him to leave the online lockout in place. I'll just talk to phone reps when I need to get account information or transaction information which is pretty rare. That inconvenience is much smaller than the time and expense of packing up my PC and taking it somewhere to get the work done,


I am not far from my local Fidelity office in case I need to make a purchase of shares there, something I did many years ago which was no big deal.
__________________
Retired in late 2008 at age 45. Cashed in company stock, bought a lot of shares in a big bond fund and am living nicely off its dividends. IRA, SS, and a pension await me at age 60 and later. No kids, no debts.

"I want my money working for me instead of me working for my money!"
scrabbler1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 12:33 PM   #49
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,316
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrabbler1 View Post
I got locked out last Friday afternoon, too. I saw that "prohibited country" message for an instant, too. After calling a phone rep, I was told my account # and login password (and screen name, perhaps, I forget) were found somewhere in the "darknet."


The phone rep said I had to get my PC "professionally cleaned" even though my 2 anti-spyware scans (Malwarebytes and Windows Defender) came up clean. This annoyed me a lot. I have also lost access to their automated phone system, as I can only speak to phone reps to get info or to make trades. That actually isn't that big a deal because I rarely initiate any transactions. So, I have done nothing to try to regain automated phone or internet access to my accounts.


I think Fidelity's request for me to get my PC "professionally cleaned" is overkill. It's a nuisance not worth the time, cost, and effort to get my access back. I have used internet access for Fidelity for only a few years so losing it isn't a big deal.


Fidelity mentioned a few weeks ago that they will introduce a new, extra layer of security for certain transactions. This can be entering a texted code to make trades, for example. That's fine with me.


If Fidelity wants me to make a new username or password, that's fine. If they want to give me a new account number, that's fine. But I won't haul my PC to Geek Squad or some other outfit and wait around all day (or longer) for them to "clean" my PC.


No kudos to Fidelity from me.
it is weird so many of us had the same issue Friday . that makes it sound like there is more to this story. all of us on a drop site in the criminal world somewhere is just nuts. I wonder if they got hacked and that is the story line
__________________
mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 01:05 PM   #50
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathjak107 View Post
it is weird so many of us had the same issue Friday . that makes it sound like there is more to this story. all of us on a drop site in the criminal world somewhere is just nuts. I wonder if they got hacked and that is the story line
Or they just started to recognize an already existing practice and are closing vulnerabilities?
__________________
MRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 01:24 PM   #51
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: MSP
Posts: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawg52 View Post
Fidelity does have an extra layer of protection as scrabbler1 suggested. Not thrilled with having to get a pass code every time I want to log on, but might be prudent.

https://www.fidelity.com/security/soft-tokens/overview

I've been using the soft token feature for several months. I was reluctant to sign up at first, thinking it would be more hassle than I would like since I log in at least every 2 or 3 days. But I've found the extra five or ten seconds involved to be a minuscule price to pay for the added security in these crazy times.
__________________
UpAnchor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 01:41 PM   #52
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Dawg52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central MS/Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 7,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by UpAnchor View Post
I've been using the soft token feature for several months. I was reluctant to sign up at first, thinking it would be more hassle than I would like since I log in at least every 2 or 3 days. But I've found the extra five or ten seconds involved to be a minuscule price to pay for the added security in these crazy times.
I requested more info on the new 'pass code' feature they recently implemented. Below is their response......

This new feature will generate a security code when you log into Fidelity.com using a computer or a connection that is not recognized by our system. You will receive a pop up window notifying you that a code is being sent, and allowing you to choose the delivery method for this code.

I think I'm going this route for now. I'm sure I could get use to a soft token on each log on if I have to, but the above feature is a nice new security step that should help. But as you said.....these are crazy times so who knows.
__________________
Retired 3/31/2007@52
Full time wuss.......
Dawg52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 05:15 PM   #53
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
pb4uski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vermont & Sarasota, FL
Posts: 15,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrabbler1 View Post
I spoke to the Fido Frauds man and he told me Fido won't lift the lockout on my account even though I suggested several alternatives to getting my PC "professionally cleaned." One alternative was to get a unique code texted to me when I log in ("soft token") but he told me the current lockout would override this useful measure. He said I have to get the professional cleaning because other financial institutions I use online access for could be compromised. Say what? (I have had no unauthorized activity on them and I just changed my password.) Doesn't that seem a little overly paternalistic on Fidelity's part?....
I think I would tell them to pound sand and move everything to another provider as soon as practical. And at the same time broadcast your story and numb-nuts insistence that you have your PC professionally cleaned to the highest levels of Fido.

After that, if they were smart they would offer to buy you a brand new laptop if you keep your money with them.
__________________
If something cannot endure laughter.... it cannot endure.
Patience is the art of concealing your impatience.
Slow and steady wins the race.
pb4uski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2016, 05:24 AM   #54
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 15,630
Considering the hell a friend went through after getting her Mac "professionally cleaned" by the Geek Squad I really don't like this scenario.

We are very computer savvy and no way we would put our Macs in the hands of folks like the Geek Squad. No one touches our Mac's.

I have to seriously think how to handle this scenario if we get locked out. I can't imagine what is going on at Fidelity.

Actually - we could wipe our Macs. Have them professionally cleaned, then restore. We've even done things like remove our hard drive and replace with blank system drive before sending in for computer repair to Apple.

We have multiple Macs.
__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2016, 05:28 AM   #55
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 15,630
We used to have the passcode, but it seems they changed the system?

And what about the recent feature where they have you log into another financial institution to link bank accounts? I don't like that. They used to take several business days to link before with account info but the didn't require a login - that felt more secure.
__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2016, 11:43 AM   #56
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,316
as of today we are 100% back except for just waiting for the new checks in the mail .
__________________
mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2016, 02:18 PM   #57
Dryer sheet aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 33
That's pretty good. My account got hacked on the 1st and it wasn't until today that I got a deposit back into my account. I still don't have access to my money yet, and won't until USAA decides I can. I wish they could have done like Fido and caught it before it happened.

Sent from my XT1031 using Early Retirement Forum mobile app
__________________
Matthew J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2016, 06:24 AM   #58
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,729
Quote:
Originally Posted by pb4uski View Post
I think I would tell them to pound sand and move everything to another provider as soon as practical. And at the same time broadcast your story and numb-nuts insistence that you have your PC professionally cleaned to the highest levels of Fido.

After that, if they were smart they would offer to buy you a brand new laptop if you keep your money with them.
I'm not sure about moving my entire Fidelity portfolio elsewhere, but writing a letter to a Fidelity bigwig is something I will likely do. Bake in 2005, I had a problem with Fidelity's automated phone system (I wasn't using their online access back then) after they made some changes to make it "new and improved." After receiving a form letter from some bigwig boasting about the changes, changes which made me unable to buy new shares, I wrote my letter, making sure to tell them I had invested all new money with another financial institution and would continue doing so until they fixed the bug. I received a phone call from the bigwig's assistant telling me they weren't going to change it. Then, a few months later, I got another call from her telling me they had changed the system to fix the bug, so I could now make my phone purchases. I had moved a mountain.

I still have all the correspondence including the phone number of that executive office. Looks like I will have to dig that out and contact them again.
__________________
Retired in late 2008 at age 45. Cashed in company stock, bought a lot of shares in a big bond fund and am living nicely off its dividends. IRA, SS, and a pension await me at age 60 and later. No kids, no debts.

"I want my money working for me instead of me working for my money!"
scrabbler1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2016, 06:33 AM   #59
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,316
we are private access clients with fidelity so next time i speak with our rep i will have her get me 100 bucks worth of free trades to cover the cost of the needless scan we had done .
__________________
mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2016, 07:32 PM   #60
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 51
Hi! Did fidelity recommend any brand of virus protection/firewall? My investment company always recommends this and requires it for a refund if a person is hacked, but they no longer make software recommendations. The threat of this happening has tempted me to buy a separate computer just for financial transactions to hopefully minimize this risk.
Also, does anyone know if a wireless system itself can become infected so that it wouldn't matter if one has the above set up?


Sent from my iPhone using Early Retirement Forum
__________________

__________________
I'm sorry if I ask questions that are too nosy/personal.
Scout is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Holding non-fidelity funds at fidelity panhead FIRE and Money 16 05-02-2013 07:37 AM
New Fidelity Fund JPatrick FIRE and Money 4 10-11-2005 08:00 AM
Fidelity Stategic Income (FSICX) kenepp1 FIRE and Money 6 06-14-2005 05:52 PM
Fidelity index funds with exp ratio 0.1% or less amt FIRE and Money 15 10-15-2004 04:17 PM
Fidelity vs vanguard customer service Roger_R FIRE and Money 9 07-01-2004 06:21 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:29 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.