Life after RMDs + SS

omni550

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Working on filing my income taxes got me thinking about what happens after age 70-1/2 when we must take RMDs from our IRAs. (I have also been planning on filing for SS at 70.)

Since I RE'd 6 years ago (at 56), I've been living on my [smallish] corporate pension supplemented by withdrawals from savings & investments.

Looking forward, I see the potential for a major increase in my income at age 70 and beyond due to RMDs + SS, as I have the bulk of my net worth in my traditional IRAs.

And, FWIW, I have been converting from tIRAs to Roths for several years, but the tIRAs are still substantially large.

Just wondering if this situation has been discussed and/or any strategies proposed on dealing with this?

omni

Working on filing my income taxes got me thinking about what happens after age 70-1/2 when we must take RMDs from our IRAs. (I have also been planning on filing for SS at 70.)

Since I RE'd 6 years ago (at 56), I've been living on my [smallish] corporate pension supplemented by withdrawals from savings & investments.

Looking forward, I see the potential for a major increase in my income at age 70 and beyond due to RMDs + SS, as I have the bulk of my net worth in my traditional IRAs.

And, FWIW, I have been converting from tIRAs to Roths for several years, but the tIRAs are still substantially large.

Just wondering if this situation has been discussed and/or any strategies proposed on dealing with this?

omni

if you are taking SS at 70 you don't really need a strategy. the strategy is usually involved whether to take SS at 62 or not.

at 70 and starting ss just take the minimum required out of your accounts.

Also don't forget that just because you have to take RMDs, you don't necessarily have to spend them.

It's been touched on a bit here and there. I first realized the magnitude of the problem since I began helping my MIL with her taxes.