Looking for input on asset allocation

ER Eddie

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I'm fairly new to investment. Currently my money is in three Vanguard funds: Target Retirement 2015, Life Strategy Moderate Growth and Wellington funds. As I've been learning more, I have seen a number of shortcomings in my current setup.

To make a long story short, I'm thinking about shifting everything to the asset allocation below. But, since I'm still pretty new at this, I thought it would be a good idea to check it out with the forum first, before I went ahead.

For context, I am 51 years old, and I plan to shift from full-time to part-time work in about one year. I will continue working part-time as long as I enjoy it. As far as risk tolerance goes, I am probably in the moderate or perhaps low-moderate range.

Anyhow, here is the allocation I'm thinking about. Tell me if this seems reasonable:

All funds purchased through Vanguard.

60% stocks, 40% bonds.

Of the stocks, 70% would be in US funds, 30% in international.

Of the US stocks:
- 60% in Vanguard 500 Index fund
- 20% in Mid-cap Index fund
- 20% in Small-cap Value fund

Of the international stocks:
- 75% in Developed Markets Index fund
- 25% in Emerging Markets Index fund

Of the bonds:
- 50% Short-term Index Bond fund
- 50% Intermediate Term Index Bond fund

Does that seem about right? Is there anything significant that I am overlooking?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Last edited:
You could simplify this and have a similar asset allocation.

First, did you know that Total Int'l Stock Market index is about 25% emerging markets already? So instead of those 2 int'l funds, you could simply have a Total Int'l Stock Market index fund.