Join Early Retirement Today

Looking for the magic formula for Roth conversions vs RMDs
Old 01-14-2018, 08:47 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Looking for the magic formula for Roth conversions vs RMDs

I'm new to looking at IRA RMD numbers. I see lots of web pages that suggest doing Roth conversions on one's IRA assets to avoid RMDs. I'm only age 55 so I have quite a few years between now and RMDs, but it seems like one cannot start planning too soon since it could take a number of years to implement a gradual conversion strategy to avoid RMDs.

The Roth conversion strategy sounds nice, but when I start thinking about the details, it seems very complicated to decide how much to convert each year. If I do a Roth conversion, that increases my taxes now; but if I don't, that increases my taxes at age 70.5. It's similar (but not identical) to the question of contributing to a Roth vs a traditional IRA to begin with.

Am I missing some way of looking at this which makes it a lot simpler than I am making it out to be?

Complications:

- I'm not sure what my goal should be. Should I try to Roth-convert 100% of my IRA assets by age 70.5 so that my RMDs will be 0 at that point? It seems like a more balanced approach may be in order. I.e., converting only part of my assets by 70.5, which will lower my current taxes each year (compared to what they would be if I were aiming at 100% conversion by 70.5), thus aiming at having some RMDs but hopefully a low amount, at least lower than if I didn't convert anything. But I don't know what final percentage I should aim for to be converted.