Join Early Retirement Today

Money Dilemmas
Old 03-22-2012, 10:37 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Money Dilemmas

Each of us has probably had one, a situation where you're not sure how to act as it regards money. Sometimes it's with family, sometimes friends, etc.

I'll start with a couple, feel free to add your own.

1) When I was in my mid 20s I was an auto mechanic. I made about $20k/year...which would be like maybe $32k today. Not poverty, but not enough to buy the finer things. My brother was an exec at a large company, and my sister was a doctor. Most holidays (Easter, Father's Day, Mother's Day, etc.), they'd all want to go to these fancy brunches that were $18/person...and I was bringing my girlfriend. I could not afford it.

I wasn't sure what to do at first. I wanted to go, as I lived in a different city than my family, but the cost was prohibitive for me. The first time, I sucked it up and paid it....but then my bank account was low at the end of the month. I wasn't spending elsewhere frivolously....so I realized this is not something I could do 6-7 times a year.

So the next time around, I called the restaurant in advance and explained my situation. They would usually say they had a lower-cost option for me, such as a soup and salad bar for half the cost....so we did that for a couple times. Then my brother noticed what we were doing, and he offered to pay the difference for us between that meal and the regular meal...he was very kind about it. So we did that a couple times.

Now I make as much money as they do...so I've returned the favor a couple times. It all worked out. What would you have done?

2) Where I work, we have recognition events when employees reach milestones, or retire, or leave the group, whatever. We used to fund these out of department expenses...take everyone to lunch or have it catered in, whatever.