Mortgage Payoff While Investing Aggressively

dsp0725

Recycles dryer sheets
My fiance and I have a combined income of $175k. We have no debt but do have $303k remaining on our house @ 4.625%. House value is roughly $400k here in Austin TX. We got our 30 year mortgage in 2014. I'm 32, she's 28.

I have a Roth IRA and a solo 401k, which I have been maxing out annually for 2 years now. This year the company I own is able to add an additional $40k to my solo401k.

We would like to have our house paid off as soon as possible, without sacrificing our aggressive investing strategies. My fiance will be setting up her Roth IRA in 2016.

What do you recommend as the best strategy for achieving the mortgage payoff ASAP while continuing to fund our investments aggressively?

Thank you!

Last edited:
I do the same.

I max out my 401K, $24,000
Max out HSA, $4,350
Max out IRA, $6,500

And I put another $4,000 per month on my mortgage that I am paying off. I just did another installment today.

Max out 401K and other tax deferred investments first. They pay extra on the mortgages.

And I also save another $125,000 after tax.

I don't know much about HSA's as an investment tool. Who do you have yours through and how effective are they.

I would consider making a large payment as soon as you can with whatever extra dough you have.

4.6 % is a good return. Since the market is high right now why not shift to debt reduction?

Can you re-fi to a lower rate? Some of us here do not consider a mortgage a bad thing. If you sink more money into the mortgage, you won't see any reduction in payments until it is all paid off. In the meantime, that money is tied up in the house.

Would you still have plenty of liquidity if you paid it off? Some people get hung up on the idea that "if I lose my job, at least I won't have that mortgage payment" - but $303K will carry you through a long dry stretch. And you still have utilities, taxes etc.

-ERD50