Join Early Retirement Today

Mortgage Payoff While Investing Aggressively
Old 04-25-2016, 04:00 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Mortgage Payoff While Investing Aggressively

My fiance and I have a combined income of $175k. We have no debt but do have $303k remaining on our house @ 4.625%. House value is roughly $400k here in Austin TX. We got our 30 year mortgage in 2014. I'm 32, she's 28.

I have a Roth IRA and a solo 401k, which I have been maxing out annually for 2 years now. This year the company I own is able to add an additional $40k to my solo401k.

We would like to have our house paid off as soon as possible, without sacrificing our aggressive investing strategies. My fiance will be setting up her Roth IRA in 2016.

What do you recommend as the best strategy for achieving the mortgage payoff ASAP while continuing to fund our investments aggressively?

Thank you!
dsp0725 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-25-2016, 04:03 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

I do the same.

I max out my 401K, $24,000