My 401K turns out to be a Flexible Payment Variable Annuity Account A

Dreamer

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I work part-time as a receptionist in a doctor's office. I earn very little at this job. However, I was looking forward to being able to contribute to a 401K and having the doctor contribute 4%. He also will contribute to this account with profit sharing once per year. I met with the agent who handles this for the doctor on Friday. He is an agent with The Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Company. I was shocked when I found out that it is a Flexible Payment Variable Annuity Account A and that it is a Back-Load Contract. One has to keep the money in the account for 8 years or face a withdrawal charge rate as high as 6% decreasing down to 1%. Their is a chart for the current annual contract fees showing 1.45% and maximum of 3.00% total fees. Also, there is an annual contract fee of $30.00.

I am 58 yrs old and wonder from day to day, how long I am going to keep this job. I could quit next month or decide to stay until age 62. I already have a COLA'd pension and sometime wonder why I am working this job. I had planned on putting 90% of my pay into this 401K and then whenever I quit, I was going to roll it over into my TSP. I would not sign The Application for Deferred Annuity when I found out it was a Variable Annuity. I told him that I did not know enough about them and that I needed to do some reading first. I think that I am the first person that would not sign up for it. All that I could think of was that everything that anyone had ever posted on this site about Variable Annuities was negative.