My investing strategy is a mess...

Cap_Scarlet

Recycles dryer sheets
As we head towards retirement (in the next 6-12 months) I am keen to deploy our funds in a way which will provide a decent return recognizing the following criteria:

1. My wife is extremely cautious and would prefer not gain nothing rather than lose anything consequently we currently have around 50% of our available funds in low yielding cash accounts.

However.....

2. I relatively recently (beginning of this year) was able to extract about 500k which now sits in a balanced retirement fund (with a strong leaning towards bonds).

3. I have around another 200k in a mixture of managed investment funds. Principally sector driven including healthcare and consumer products among others.

4. I've recently started buying individual high-yielding stocks across a variety of sectors and geographies. I am an accountant so able to understand a set of accounts. Largely I am looking at companies which appear to be unloved or unexciting (but have paid dividends for a number of years). So far I've invested about 50k.

5. Have around 100k in addition in what i would call "alternative" investments (aircraft, solar, containers etc.) which have so far shown decent yield.

6. Have another 100k of share capital in the business which currently employs me (i am a partner) which pays interest at 6% (rate has been the same for around 15 years and of course is now very attractive!).

So we have just under a million generating a decent return and (almost) nothing on the rest.

My challenges are as follows:

1. How do I convince my wife that we need to get away from the cash and / or find investments that are absolutely safe (even if they only return 1-2% per year).

2. I am a diversity junky but I feel now that I have too many investments and not enough time to track them - am I making a mistake? Should I simplify and just make a few big bets?