Need help understanding 0% capital gains tax in the 15% bracket

CardsFan

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
This will be my first year trying to manage income to be tax efficient. FIRE'd in February this year.

I have a substantial capital loss carryover from the sale of inherited property. I have been working it down, but it will probably take 2 more years, unless I take some additional gains this year.

When I run simulations for 2016, using Turbotax, it appears that the carry over losses are used first, so that I have no cap gains tax benefit by staying under the 15% limit. Dividends do appear to be remain untaxed in this scenario.

Has any one dealt with this before?

Thanks for any insight.

We are in the same situation but with (it sounds like) smaller CG losses than you.

I'm just learning this too but, as I understand it:

1. Use long term CG losses to cover long term CGs first; $ for $.
2. Use your remaining headroom within the 15% tax bracket ($75,600+Std Ded+Exemption) to sell assets with LT CG. Do this based on your current estimate of 2016 taxable income.
3. Rinse & repeat each year.

There are some nuances like using LT CG losses to cover LT CGs first before using to cover ST CG and vice Versa but, I'm not there yet.

You may be whatever you resolve to be.

You have capitol losses from the sale of a property? I didn't think those were possible to deduct.

You have capitol losses from the sale of a property? I didn't think those were possible to deduct.

The property was an unimproved lot. No buildings. At time of inheritance, it was appraised as a buildable lot (with a formal appraisal). When we tried to sell, 10 years later, the improvements required to get zoning approval severely reduced the value.

Everything I have found says this is a legitimate capital loss.

We are in the same situation but with (it sounds like) smaller CG losses than you.

I'm just learning this too but, as I understand it: