Join Early Retirement Today

Need help with small business retirement plan
Old 08-10-2014, 06:34 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Hi, I'm a 39 yr old ER doc and trying my hardest to create some passive income to follow me into FIRE. I have always functioned as an independent contractor while working in the emergency department utilizing a SEP to fund my retirement. I've recently opened an urgent care which is run primarily by PA's and FNP's. My problem is that now that I have employees I can no longer really use a SEP as I can't afford to fund all of my employees retirement~~~12 employees total. I'm kinda new to how retirement plans work from a small business owner's perspective. My accountant has been less than helpful. At this point all of the money I save while working in the ER as well as the money I generate from my urgent care is going into a taxable account.......any advice would be appreciated

Sent from my iPhone using Early Retirement Forum
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-10-2014, 06:39 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)