Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Need your thoughts on Bond Funds
Old 01-23-2018, 08:58 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Need your thoughts on Bond Funds

My wife and I WILL pull the trigger this year, both at 62. We have $3.3MM+ in, investable assets, with a paid off $400K house. I've been investing since 1987, so I've seen lots of ups and downs in the stock market, and although, I threw up a little , I stayed the course and kept investing and only started to shift from stocks to bond funds about 5 years ago.

Right now, we're about 55% in simple S&P 500 or Total Stock market funds, with about 10% of that, in overseas funds. 18% in Total Bond Market funds (6 year duration), 5% in short term Bond funds, 20% in 5 year CD's averaging just under 3% and the balance, in cash.

I feel comfortable here, but my wife feels a little uneasy about our bond allocation, since it has gone down a little in value, recently. She's looking at the increasing interest rates and the affect it will have on it. I know that it will go down a little, then gradually work it's way back up. Or it could have minimal affect if rates only go up another 1/2%

Right now, we have $1.1MM in tax differed accounts and $500K in Roths. The balance or about $1.8MM in taxable accounts. The CD's will be used first and added to if/when interest rates increase.

$70,000 (taxes included here) + $25,000 for healthcare costs (till Medicare in 3 years) +$25,000 in discretionary spending (fun) = $120,000 in spending - $25,000 in a small pension which we will start this year, so I really have to come up with about $95,000/yr, until we start to take SS at 70. We're flexible if that needs to change.

My plan is to do Roth Conversions on the tax deferred, yearly.