Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??
Old 10-12-2005, 03:00 PM   #1
 
Posts: n/a
Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??

I have been a Quicken User for about 15 years. I have all of my financial records there for the last 13 years.

When I run any net worth graphs the data that is shown for 10 years ago is just plain wrong. Not off by a few thousand, but well over half a million. I include all of accounts that are now closed.

Anyone ever get this to work or are having the same problems? Current Net Worth amounts are correct, but Quicken seems to have a problem computing past history. Contacting Intuit would be a waste of time, as I have contacted them with much, much simpler problems than this and came up empty. If they don't have the worst customer service, they're damn close.



__________________
  Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??
Old 10-12-2005, 03:03 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Nords's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oahu
Posts: 26,617
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cut-Throat
Anyone ever get this to work or are having the same problems?
Nope, it's broke. I've calculated net worth on specific dates and put that data into Excel. I doubt Quicken's net worth graphs will ever work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cut-Throat
Contacting Intuit would be a waste of time, as I have contacted them with much, much simpler problems than this and came up empty. If they don't have the worst customer service, they're damn close.
Hmmmm, they're a monopoly and they give quick refunds to unhappy customers. Why would they bother paying for a customer-service department?
__________________

__________________
*
*

The book written on E-R.org, "The Military Guide to Financial Independence and Retirement", on sale now! For more info see "About Me" in my profile.
I don't spend much time here anymore, so please send me a PM. Thanks.
Nords is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??
Old 10-12-2005, 03:53 PM   #3
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??

Make sure that you aren't filtering out accounts that you no longer use.

Choose Customize, click the Accounts Tab, click All Accounts, check "Show Hidden Accounts," click Mark All, then OK.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??
Old 10-12-2005, 04:23 PM   #4
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??

Man do I hate Quicken. Just since making that last post I've hit three new bugs.

Example, when I connect to Quicken Bill Pay, it tells me the logon is invalid. Try a few times, to confirm, then exit and restart Quicken and it works.

And anything related to online stuff is getting slower and slower.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??
Old 10-12-2005, 05:35 PM   #5
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??

Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl
Make sure that you aren't filtering out accounts that you no longer use.*

Choose Customize, click the Accounts Tab, click All Accounts, check "Show Hidden Accounts," click Mark All, then OK.
AL,

Yes, I have included all 'dead' accounts. Just for a kick, try to contact Intuit 'Chat Support'. I have not done this for about a year. They have a new system, that seemed to me almost impossible to 'penetrate'. This 'Chat Support System' is the most F***ed up example of Customer Service that I have ever witnessed. I'll be impressed if you are actually able to communicate with a human.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??
Old 10-12-2005, 10:27 PM   #6
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: No Where for Very Long
Posts: 747
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??

Hey Guys,

Quicken drives me nuts too. And the nice folks at Quicken have successfully insulated themselves from their "customers." Have a problem? Don't contact Quicken 'cause they don't care. Another user will give you more empathy/assistance.

At Quicken, it is what it is....

The question is: why do I still use them?!?

Lance
__________________

Lancelot is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??
Old 10-12-2005, 10:43 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
Nords's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oahu
Posts: 26,617
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lancelot
At Quicken, it is what it is....

The question is: why do I still use them?!?
1. Because I have 19 years of data invested in whatever file format Intuit wants to use this month. I've been left high & dry between other software upgrades before and it's not pretty.
2. Because Microsoft's product has been even crappier than Intuit's.
3. Because Intuit cheerfully refunds my money when I yell at them.
__________________
*
*

The book written on E-R.org, "The Military Guide to Financial Independence and Retirement", on sale now! For more info see "About Me" in my profile.
I don't spend much time here anymore, so please send me a PM. Thanks.
Nords is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??
Old 10-14-2005, 10:41 AM   #8
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??

Don't get me started on Quicken.* Same thing for me: 20 years of data in it so I'm stuck.*

I've posted it before, but for your amusement, here's one of my transcripts of a chat support session:

Code:
System Initial Question/Comment: Instructions for 
eliminating a linked checking account do not work 
System Brian has joined this session! 

Brian: Welcome to Quicken chat. I've reviewed the brief 
issue summary you provided. Could you provide specific details to 
help me better understand your situation? 

You: I want to eliminate my linked checking accounts. The 
instructions for this say: 
In the Account Bar on the left side of the Quicken 
window, click the account name for an investment account for which 
there is an existing linked checking account. If the account Summary 
page is not displayed, click the Summary tab. 
Quicken opens the account Summary page for this account. 
In the account Summary page, under Account Attributes, click Edit 
Account Details. 
Quicken opens the Account Details dialog. 
If necessary, click the General Information tab. 
For the Show cash in a linked checking account option, click No.  
Quicken transfers all cash transactions into the investment account's 
transaction list and deletes the existing linked checking account. 
However, there is no option for "Show cash in a 
linked checking account" 
How can I make that option appear? 
Thanks 

Brian: I apologize for the inconvenience however, we at 
chat Support are not trained on the Investment part of Quicken as this 
support is provided over live Phone Support. I suggest you to please 
contact our Investment Support Number for the same. Would you like me 
to provide you the number where you can call for the same? 

You: Brian, you are joking, right? 
OK, here's a question for you that is not related to the 
investing part of Quicken. 
I want to export transactions from one account to 
another. 
The only file format available for exporting is QIF. 
But when I try to import from the QIF file, I am told 
that Quicken no longer allows QIF file import. 
So how do I do it? 

Brian: I am sorry, from Quicken 2005 onwards, we cannot 
import a QIF file format in Quicken as it is not supported from 
Quicken 2005 onwards 
I suggest you to please contact our Investment 
Support over the Phones so that they may provide you any work around, 
if possible. 

You: But surely you must know how to export from one 
account and import to another? 

Brian: Well, if you are asking about Exporting 
transactions and importing amongst Checking Account, it is not 
possible, however, I am not sure, if there is any work around possible 
for the Investments accounts or not
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??
Old 10-14-2005, 10:46 AM   #9
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??

Quote:
net worth graphs the data that is shown for 10 years ago is just plain wrong.
If you double-click on the bar that is wrong, and look at the components of that total, can you figure out from that why it's wrong? That is, you'll see whether individual account totals are wrong, or accounts are missing.

Also, have you run the Validate function on the file lately?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??
Old 10-14-2005, 05:12 PM   #10
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??

Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl
If you double-click on the bar that is wrong, and look at the components of that total, can you figure out from that why it's wrong?* That is, you'll see whether individual account totals are wrong, or accounts are missing.

Also, have you run the Validate function on the file lately?
Al,

Yes, I just Validated the File when I upgraded to Quicken 2006. - All Checked out. I have drilled down and noticed that my 401K value was zero in 2000. - I was still working?? - Like I said the history is just plain wrong for me. Granted the Account is zero today as I transferred it to My IRA.

Are you telling me that the Net Worth Graphs for you are working fine? For Older Accounts that you now have currently closed?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??
Old 10-14-2005, 05:36 PM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,275
Re: Net Worth Graphs in Quicken??

I stopped using quicken about 5 years ago when I went to work in London... did not have my computer with me... when I got back it was too much data to input for 3 years....

BUT, I do remember doing some year end thing that messed up my older accounts. It seemed to have removed a lot of entries and only kept the newer ones, so any graph from that point back was not good as there were not entries for those time periods...

However, if you have not elminated all your entries, I am clueless..
__________________

__________________
Texas Proud is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
net worth


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll: net worth to lifetime earnings firewhen FIRE and Money 9 01-08-2007 08:12 PM
Calculating your net worth justin FIRE and Money 59 07-02-2005 10:18 PM
NET WORTH FOR ONE'S AGE gary Life after FIRE 68 02-02-2005 05:00 PM
Net worth sunrunner4@hotmail.com Life after FIRE 23 08-11-2004 12:23 PM
Updated Net Worth Figures - How Do You Rate? intercst Other topics 0 01-22-2003 07:00 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:13 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.