Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

New Job and 401K Question
Old 08-03-2013, 07:27 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

New Job and 401K Question

Hi all – I am new to this investing stuff and have a question.
My wife has recently transitioned to a new job and now has the opportunity to start investing in their 401K plan. The company does not match contributions and the portfolio of investment options her plan offers I consider mediocre (no index funds). She is set up to contribute the maximum of $17,500 a year through automatic pre-tax deductions.
So the question is…. Do the tax advantages of participating in a 401K plan with no company match and a mediocre portfolio outweigh the option to opt of the 401K plan and invest those same dollars post-tax into something like index funds?
Together we make $200k a year and I have my 401k with company match maxed out.
I would love to hear the opinions of others on the board.
Pleeplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!