New Retiree/Need a Withdrawal Strategy/Suggestions?

SunnyOne

Recycles dryer sheets
I would really appreciate any and all advice here. I'm single, just turned 59.5 and planning to retire in a couple of months after 35 years of work.

I am a lifelong accumulator and saver. I have no experience with spending and it makes me nervous, but hey, I have to live, lol.

I need to get a grip on a tax efficient withdrawal strategy so I have money to actually live on, now that my paycheck is going away. I am not sure which accounts to draw from first, etc.

Portfolio Size : $1.92M +/-

Expected expenses in retirement: $70K-$80K/year

Key information: I am a renter, do not own any RE. Planning to move from HCOL area to LCOL area in retirement.

Current retirement assets by allocation percentage:

These are held in a combination of a taxable brokerage account, 2 - 401K accounts (one a former employer, one current employer - federal government TSP), money markets and I-Bonds and a Roth IRA

Domestic Equity 23%

International Equity 8%

Bonds 47%

Cash 22%

= 100%

Federal Pension: later this year will be approx $1,000/month minus $175/month for health insurance

Social Security $2000 at age 62
$3044 at age 67

One opportunity would be to take your pension then do Roth conversions up to the top of the 12% tax bracket, while pulling from your after tax investments to supplement the pension.

Thank you. I have to take my pension immediately upon retirement - it's a condition of taking the healthcare with me when I leave.

One opportunity would be to take your pension then do Roth conversions up to the top of the 12% tax bracket, while pulling from your after tax investments to supplement the pension.
+1

If your cash is taxed spend it. You are in good shape.

Thank you. I have to take my pension immediately upon retirement - it's a condition of taking the healthcare with me when I leave.