New retiree story and recommendation for a good brokerage/bank

swampwiz

Recycles dryer sheets
Hello all. To start, let me give my life story and status. I am a freelance software developer (used to be a rocket scientist for a NASA contractor) who used to be able to command rates of $60/hr, but now seem to be hitting a wall. I believe that with outsourcing of high skill jobs to cheap places like India, that the whole cost structure of my current standard of living is gone, and I need to live on less. Since I would rather have more free time than a few extra bucks from working a stupid job at Wal-Mart, and I have enough in my retirement accounts to live fairly decently in a low cost area like Eastern Europe, I will just go into retirement, with the possibility of taking the occasional decent paying gig whenever I can get it (but living on a level that does not assume that I could continue to get such gigs.)

Anyway, I currently have a small Roth IRA and a substantial (~ $170K) 401K with my old full time employer. I have a small pension ($350/mo) coming to me when I hit 65, and if I wait until 70 to get Social Security, I will be getting about $1300/mo (even if I don't have any more FICA earnings.) I plan on keeping my income low enough to qualify for much reduced premiums under the new health care plan (in my state of Louisiana, where I plan to have a very small, cheap nominal legal home, I can get free care from the state hospital system if my income is below 200% of poverty.) I am currently a childless bachelor aged 44, and the only wife I plausibly see myself getting would be Easter European (and residing there for the most part.) I find such Eastern European women much more desirable than women in Louisiana. Oh and BTW, I am currently still displaced from my home that was flooded during Hurricane Katrina (I got 9-1/2' of water.)