Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

New to Roths and have questions
Old 12-03-2017, 03:21 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

New to Roths and have questions

I am new to Roths and am looking for some input. Specifically, conversions from T-IRA / 401k and if I'm on the right track with my thinking. First off, a 401k = T-IRA, right?

Would we have to roll it into a "real" T-IRA and then convert or can it just be converted directly? Or is this plan specific? DH's SPD doesn't spell it out and just mentions "withdrawals".

We have twice as much in 401k as we do in after-tax investments. I'm thinking that, once retired, we should convert as much of the 401k to Roth as we can to minimize our RMD down the road. DH hopes to retire in 3 years at age 58.

Here is where I need help fleshing things out, or at least confirmation that I'm on the right path with my thinking:

The 5-year rule(s) has me stumped. I am finding conflicting/incomplete info about this and I am completely confused now.

*Does the 5-year rule even matter if DH is over 59 1/2 when he wants to w/d from the account, or is the 5-year "account age" true no matter what? I.e. could he convert to a Roth at the age of 58 and begin withdrawing from it when he's 59 1/2 and one day of age without penalties/taxes?

*I understand the 5-year period for conversions begins anew with each year's conversion, but does this rule go away once DH is over 59 1/2 and the account's age is at least 5 years (providing that the account must be 5 years old--see my bullet question above this one)?