Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

On the Horns of a Dilemma
Old 06-10-2018, 04:28 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

On the Horns of a Dilemma

Hey gang,
Newbie here, first post.

I will be RE this coming Friday. My position (at Mega Corp) is moving to another state. I've known for over a year so not blindsided here. I think it's perfect timing in a way. I'll get a healthy severance to last for most of a year.

My question is about my cash allocation. I currently have the following AA:
Cash 28%
Bond 21%
Stock 51%

The cash amount is $800K+
Thinking I've been a bit conservative in my cash position. It's a mix of tax/non tax with money markets, 401k stable value fund, IRA money market (Vanguard), etc.

I'm 54, spouse is 59 (also retired and we get health insurance from his mega corp).
So should I pay off my mortgage at 3.375%, $1000 pmt per mo, $218K bal, 5/1 with 4 years to go. $750K new construction 1 year old or devote that cash to investing more.

Living expenses of about $90K per year. My thought process was to provide enough years in safe cash to get us to SS.

Am I over thinking this and being too conservative? Any thoughts, questions are welcome.
willatl is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!