Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Old 06-09-2014, 09:11 AM   #21
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Which Roger View Post
Liberal arts and STEM are not mutually exclusive. I have a BA in Computer Science from a small liberal arts college. <snip> And the liberal arts education made me much more adaptable/flexible than others I worked with who specialized from day 1.
I was a Math major and when I mentioned to a friend who was in Engineering that I was considering a switch to Engineering, he said, "well, then you've just used up all of your electives". I was a freshman.

I stuck with Math and was glad I did. My college education also included a wonderful one-year sequence on Music Appreciation, which was an easy A, but also taught by a professor who LOVED all kinds of music and wanted to share it, and 2 years of German. I kept up the German and it came in very handy in my personal travels and also when my employer was acquired by a company based on Zurich in 2006. My Swiss colleagues all spoke excellent English but understanding German helped me grasp the occasional side discussions in German and navigate when on my own. I was really happy to be able to take a sprinkling of classes outside my major discipline.
athena53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!