Join Early Retirement Today

Pensions, Buyouts, PBGC, RISK
Old 02-20-2015, 10:19 AM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

I am fortunate enough to have a pension that I have been collecting for the last 13 years. The company who is paying the pension has informed us that they will be making a one-time offer to pay a lump sum and buy out our pensions. There is an active discussion concerning this on an email list that former employees (most of whom are collecting a pension) participate. As you might imagine, on the list there is an active discussion of the pros and cons of taking the buyout offer. Most folks view the existence of the government agency that takes over pensions that get into trouble (the PBGC) as a "pro" for keeping the pension since it reduces risk. One person though made this interesting point about the PBGC and its perceived ability to mitigate risk:

"That assumes the PBGC continues its current role. There are many very
aggressive thieves working overtime these days. And the public seems
pretty idiotic - they are getting convinced that pensions are bad and those
that get them are evil, greedy, lazy people and confiscation or reduction
is just fine. So maybe the PBGC will go away. As less and less people
have pensions, there is more and more jealousy toward those who do."

So what do you all think?

Is there jealousy towards people who have pensions?

Is there a real possibility that the PBGC will go away at some point in the foreseeable future and if so to what extent does that make taking a lump sum a better option?
almost_there is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!