Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

permanent portfolio questions
Old 05-19-2010, 02:02 PM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

permanent portfolio questions

I am making up my conservative AA and exploring permanent portfolio as someone has recommended to me.

Do you hold a permanent portfolio PRPFX as part of your AA?

if not - why not?
if yes - what % of total AA is it?

if you were to buy it now - would you? it has a high percent in gold and the opinions I read here and elsewhere is that gold is too expensive right now (which sort of makes sens to me).

If I am just starting out with my AA (moving from cash into some mutual funds), does it make sense to put some in PRPFX? (perhaps 30% of the total pf amount)? I know, I am not really trying to time the market sicne I am investing for long term but still, that question is on my mind.

Also, do you hold PRPFX or do you replicate what they do on your own? and if the later - what funds/ETFs you use for that?

Thanks
norisk
norisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!