Perpetual Self Employed Semi-Retirement

ferco

Recycles dryer sheets
Be interested to know how many posters have ever considered never officially totally retiring. Does anyone "work" for themselves 15-20 hours per week at their leisure/own schedule and never plan to "retire". Taking time off per your own wishes and desire etc.Make enough to pay minimal or no taxes. Would this not ease some of the inflationary bumps/market variances and still keep the mind active particularly if you're doing something you love to do and its not really "work" but almost an avocation/hobby.

Hey, that's my plan! I currently have a full time j*b in IT. Evenings, weekends and holidays, I'm an artist selling my landscape paintings through a few art galleries. My plan is to retire from the IT day job soon, leaving more time for the artistic pursuits. Some might consider that 'just a hobby' but it does require quite a bit of work and I spend more time on the business side of my art than I do on the actual painting. On downer is that the art market is very fickle - in good years, I can make a decent income from my paintings, but when the economy is bad, the last thing someone wants to spent their $ on is original art.

I want to be FI when I quit the day job, then any income from my art will be a nice cushion. So I guess I will never really retire, I'll just make a career change to something that pays a lot less, but I really love doing. (Ok, maybe that is retirement then).

I have posted about my brother before. He is 75 and still working. He is a lobbyist so his work returns a lot more than a supplement. But for the past 10 years or so his schedule is pretty light. Since he is a solo practitioner he can control what he gets into - but he still has some crunch periods. He thrives on the activity - I can't imagine him quitting until his health fails.

Does anyone "work" for themselves 15-20 hours per week at their leisure/own schedule and never plan to "retire".