Poll: But Have You Really Retired?

After retiring, it took X yrs to toss most/all my professional materials & tools

• most/all gone in 3 months or less

Votes: 52 46.0%
  • most/all gone in 1 year or less

Votes: 23 20.4%
  • most/all gone in 3 years or less

Votes: 7 6.2%
  • most/all gone in 5 years or less

Votes: 7 6.2%
  • I still have most/all of it

Votes: 24 21.2%

• Total voters
I still have college textbooks from 30+ years ago. I last referred to one a few years ago to help a niece with a physics problem. Does that mean I am still a college student?

I still have college textbooks from 30+ years ago. I last referred to one a few years ago to help a niece with a physics problem. Does that mean I am still a college student?
No, it means you are a hoarder. :LOL: Toss that stuff out!

[/B] In my case I have quite a few books, binders of training materials that I kept (ISO 9000, Six Sigma/Lean, HR/Environmental Regs, etc.), some paper files and most of my PC files. I haven't thrown away much of it, but I think it might be time.
These are the things that I toss right away.

I started dumping reference materials, articles, books, etc well before I fired. Probably started several years before when I knew what path i wanted to take. However, if I needed to reference it again, for most stuff I can find an electronic copy online.

I've kept copies of my files for anything I authored like papers, software, presentations, etc (academic stuff not industrial). These are hidden in deep in my home directory where I never look at it (unless someone emails me about prior work).

Last edited: