Poll: who is living solely off their investments?

What kind of ER are you?

• Investments provide nearly all my income

Votes: 34 35.1%
  • Investments + pension (or social security)

Votes: 20 20.6%
  • Working spouse helps a lot

Votes: 4 4.1%
  • Semi-ER with some paying gigs

Votes: 5 5.2%
  • Wage slave

Votes: 30 30.9%
  • Pure Pensioner

Votes: 4 4.1%
  • Hey, I am the working spouse!

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

wabmester

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I keep getting the sense that there are very few here who have retired solely on their investment nest egg. Who are the hardcore ER's who live or die based on the whim of Mr. Market?

I've been sucking from the market's teats since 2002....

Re: Poll: who is living soley off their investments?

wab said:
Who are the hardcore ER's who live or die based on the whim of Mr. Market?
You say that as if it's a good thing!

Maybe ERs are more likely to fulfill their destiny if their retirement rests on a plate supported by a five-legged stool instead of a spinning plate on top of a stick...

not yet retired. Since we do have a pension, it will be living off our investments.

Nords said:
Maybe ERs are more likely to fulfill their destiny if their retirement rests on a plate supported by a five-legged stool instead of a spinning plate on top of a stick...

Oh, I do suffer from pension envy. I'm just curious how many plate spinners we have here. Sometimes I see investment advice that seems pretty off the wall, but it may make sense for a particular species of ER.

I voted working spouse, but only til March. Then it will be solely from investments - how scary is that!?!

We currently live entirely off of our investments and will continue for the next 10 years (minimum). Depending on when we choose to start collecting SS and some small pensions, we will eventually get up to about 1/3 of our annual spending requirements from these sources. The pensions are not COLA'd. :-\