Join Early Retirement Today

possible retirement
Old 05-07-2011, 08:11 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

possible retirement

hello everone, I am new to the Early Retirement. Org. I did answer on another thread. I am currently employed with the State of Ohio. I have 30 years in. I have bought 6 months of previouse state time. I would like to think about retiring August 2011. I would have 31 years and 3 months.

With the estimate I received from the State Retirment system I would have approx $3000.00 to live on with a (50%) for my wife. which would equate to $1500.00 a month if something was to happen to me.

I have contacted a Financial Planner, Who I have worked with before. Withe the estimate I received, I have sat down with him to look at options. He said take the PLOP which would be approx$111,000.00 he wanted to me to pay off the $22,000.00 in unsecured debt and it would leave approx funds of 89000.00, I would roll it over to an account with American Funds, from there he would have 80,000.00 go to a Prudential Variable Annunity. I would pay around 6%. He is stating not to touch it for around 9 year until age of 65. My only concern is I would not be able to touch it for along time

With taking that PLOP I would jeopardize receiving a 3% Cola. I was wondering if it would make more sense to take approx 80,000.00 and pay off the $22,000.00 in unsecured debt an roll over 25,000.00 into emergency and the other $25,000.00 into a variable annunity without the Financial Planner and avoid the substanical fee he would receive from the annunity.

Monthly amount without Plop would be approx $3000.00
With Plop it would be approx $2500.00( out of that would come $200.00 for Health Insurance which includes dental and vision. ( Good deal ) as I see it.