Join Early Retirement Today

Preferred Shares Primer Needed
Old 06-07-2013, 01:36 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Preferred Shares Primer Needed

Hello, everyone...

I've decided to invest in preferred shares, but I've never done it before and I don't have a good understanding of that investment class.

I understand how investing in common stocks works and I understand how investing in bonds works. But not preferred shares. So I would appreciate any advice or a pointer to some "preferred shares for dummies" learning resource. (I could not find anything in the er-org archive.)

Questions and wonderments:

-- preferreds can have maturity dates but not necessarily?

-- what happens at maturity to a preferred?

-- preferreds can be called?

-- preferreds can trade like common stocks online or do you need to place orders (especially sell orders) through a broker?

-- can the issuer force conversion into common shares?

-- and who knows what else I don't know enough to ask!

Thanks for any help you can give.

Alex in Virginia
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!