Join Early Retirement Today

Process for moving from spouse SS to own record
Old 09-25-2016, 04:38 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Process for moving from spouse SS to own record

Has anyone completed the process of moving their SS benefit from DW SS record to their own?
I have been drawing on DW's record for four years and want to shift to my record but can not find online or otherwise the mechanics for getting it done. I also want to confirm the numbers for a Jan 17 start date (per recent thread not to get dinged) versus waiting until 9/17 when I am 70. It seems once you start to draw a benefit, there is little to no info on the steps to make the change.
At the same time, I also want to get my DW's benefit shifted to be based on my benefit. (I have the impression, that most she is entitled is to 50% of my FRA benefit and not the higher value for delayed benefit I have earned--correct?).
Thanks
Nwsteve
nwsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-26-2016, 02:07 PM   #2