Join Early Retirement Today

Question about qualified dividends from ETF
Old 11-28-2014, 05:04 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Question about qualified dividends from ETF

So this is my first time dealing with qualified dividends. I have a ETF that holds preferred stocks, it is 66% qualified dividends.

Does the holding period apply to both the ETF itself and the beneficial holder?

Or does the holder "inherit" the holding period from the fund, like a long term capital gain distribution, where even if it is held for a day, the distribution is still considered a LTCG?

Thanks.
jim584672 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-28-2014, 08:04 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

The short or long term nature of capital gain distributions do not have anything to do with how long you have held the fund but rather how long the fund held individual investments that it held and sold.