Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Quicken Not Downloading Quotes
Old 03-11-2016, 09:22 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
RockyMtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Scottsdale
Posts: 1,233
Quicken Not Downloading Quotes

My Quicken 2014 doesn't seem to be downloading quotes today. Anyone else having problems? Believe I have till April 2017 before I have to download new version in order to continue to get quotes?
__________________

__________________
FIRE'D in July 2009 at 51...Never look back!
RockyMtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-11-2016, 10:09 AM   #2
Moderator
rodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 8,817
I have the same version and had the same issue yesterday afternoon. I find that if I go to a brokerage account, click the little gear/settiings icon for that account, then select "update quotes" from the dropdown - it will force an update.

I've seen this 4-5 times in the past couple of months.
__________________

__________________
Retired June 2014. No longer an enginerd - now I'm just a nerd.
micro pensions 7%, rental income 18%
rodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 10:52 AM   #3
Dryer sheet aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Warminster
Posts: 38
I am having the same problem with Quicken 2016
__________________
Jimbo125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 10:54 AM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
NW-Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19,438
I also have Quicken 2014, and see the same problem today.

I have seen this before, and the problem cleared up in a few hours. I think Quicken server has problems. What is strange today is that one single stock gets price update. What's special about that stock?
__________________
"Old age is the most unexpected of all things that can happen to a man" -- Leon Trotsky
NW-Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 05:21 PM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,322
I have Quicken 2014 and I had the same problem yesterday but it seems to work fine today.

Did anyone had a problem downloading the new software version R9 recently?
I get a bad image message when I attempt to update the software and it won't allow me to download it again.
__________________
Corporateburnout is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 05:23 PM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
RockyMtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Scottsdale
Posts: 1,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockyMtn View Post
My Quicken 2014 doesn't seem to be downloading quotes today. Anyone else having problems? Believe I have till April 2017 before I have to download new version in order to continue to get quotes?
Went and played golf, came home and everything seems to be working fine now.
__________________
FIRE'D in July 2009 at 51...Never look back!
RockyMtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 06:22 PM   #7
Moderator
rodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 8,817
Yep - worked for me this afternoon. (And it was a day I wanted to see my totals added up. )
__________________
Retired June 2014. No longer an enginerd - now I'm just a nerd.
micro pensions 7%, rental income 18%
rodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 06:54 PM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
NW-Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19,438
Yes, the stock update resumed a few hours ago.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corporateburnout View Post
... Did anyone had a problem downloading the new software version R9 recently?
I get a bad image message when I attempt to update the software and it won't allow me to download it again.
The 1st time I did it a week or two ago, the patch was bad and did not install. I tried again today, and this time it worked.

You can go to Tools -> One step update -> Update now, and Quicken will check the version and let you try again.
__________________
"Old age is the most unexpected of all things that can happen to a man" -- Leon Trotsky
NW-Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 06:58 PM   #9
Moderator
rodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 8,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by NW-Bound View Post
The 1st time I did it a week or two ago, the patch was bad and did not install. I tried again today, and this time it worked.

You can go to Tools -> One step update -> Update now, and Quicken will check the version and let you try again.
I had the same issue with the update/patch not working. (Which I think is a separate issue.) I was able to re-download it yesterday morning and have it work.
__________________
Retired June 2014. No longer an enginerd - now I'm just a nerd.
micro pensions 7%, rental income 18%
rodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 09:11 PM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by NW-Bound View Post
You can go to Tools -> One step update -> Update now, and Quicken will check the version and let you try again.
I tried that a few times to no avail. Every time I attempt to update the program stops working. The only way for me to use the program is to decline the installation of the patch when I open Quicken.
__________________
Corporateburnout is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 09:25 PM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
NW-Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19,438
For me, the patch initially crashed two weeks ago. I kept declining it until today when I gave it a 2nd shot. It worked this time.

Looks like crapshoot, as many software packages are nowadays. Pretty sad affair.
__________________
"Old age is the most unexpected of all things that can happen to a man" -- Leon Trotsky
NW-Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 07:20 AM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
steelyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Triangle
Posts: 3,218
My Quicken quotes were also slow in updating late in the week. Also, Google Sheets seemed slow to update prices, which is unusual because those seem to be updated more promptly than Quicken (and automatically, which is a bonus).

It doesn't concern me too much though, 'cause I'm not a Market Timing Winged Monkey.
__________________
steelyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 11:12 PM   #13
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 67
I have been using quicken since the demise of MS Money - I upgraded to 2016 over the holidays - it is so unstable that nothing is surprising, updates, Currencies have not updated for a month, erroneous transactions (most are old) and then getting the dreaded place holder transactions then end of messing up the balances. I do wish that there was another alternative that worked and support by the institutions. - Ah well, someday someone will create something that works to make a buck
__________________
Loving Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2016, 12:46 AM   #14
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 170
Is Moneydance not able to download quotes & transactions from various financial institutions like Quicken can?
__________________
Dreaming of Freedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2016, 11:27 AM   #15
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 894
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreaming of Freedom View Post
Is Moneydance not able to download quotes & transactions from various financial institutions like Quicken can?
Moneydance has been working fine for me for both quotes and transactions.
__________________
tulak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2016, 12:23 PM   #16
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 16,515
FWIW I'm not having any trouble downloading quotes into my old Quicken 2007 for Mac, so some update screwed things up on the later Windows version?
__________________

__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quicken 2015 requires Intuit ID for quotes? steelyman Other topics 21 01-05-2016 04:31 PM
Sites for downloading music? David1961 Other topics 8 01-16-2014 07:24 AM
Downloading YouTube tunes - legal and/or ethical? Lsbcal Other topics 26 01-17-2013 09:35 PM
downloading free mp3 books - safe? simple girl Other topics 6 03-19-2009 02:16 PM
Quicken 05-Downloading Lancelot Other topics 0 04-15-2005 03:19 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:15 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.