Join Early Retirement Today

Rebalancing My Bond Allocation
Old 05-12-2018, 04:18 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Rebalancing My Bond Allocation

Hi. I need to rebalance my portfolio to bring it back to 60% stock 40% bond. I need to increase my bond allocation. I am concerned about rising interest rates, and how that will affect my bond allocation performance. This is the primary bond fund that I use-Vanguard Total Bond Market Index Fund Admiral Shares (VBTLX) https://personal.vanguard.com/us/fun...ect=true#tab=0 .

Do you think the duration on this bond fund is too long/short, considering the way interest rate is heading (up, I believe). Is there another vanguard bond fund that you think may be a better choice than VBTLX to serve as my bond allocation? I know some people choose to do a bond ladder, I have never done that before, so I am not familiar with a bond ladder or other options. But I think all available options carry some amount of risk, and in regard to asset allocation, my preference is to keep things as simple as possible.

Thank you for your insight.

Total Bond Mkt Index Adm
Under 1 Year 0.5%
1 - 3 Years 23.5%
3 - 5 Years 19.1%
5 - 10 Years 39.6%
10 - 20 Years 3.9%
20 - 30 Years 12.8%
Over 30 Years 0.6%
Total 100.0%

nico08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!