Rebalancing - now or later?

bigla

Recycles dryer sheets
With the market tanking so, I'm sure my AA is off track - but when do you do it? In the midst of this downward turmoil or wait til it stabilizes - and who knows when that will be. :confused:
I try not to pay too much attention to the markets decline but it's in your face all over.
Larry

I rebalance every June and December.

In June I only adjust contributions.
In December I buy/sell and adjust contributions

If I do this right, in December the buying/selling is minimized.

In my tax-deffered, I do it when I'm more than 5% out of wack in any asset class at the end of every quarter. your mileage may vary.

I rebalance every June and December.

In June I only adjust contributions.
In December I buy/sell and adjust contributions

If I do this right, in December the buying/selling is minimized.

I'm just learning about all of this but I have been reading quite a bit. I've read in numerous places that perhaps buying in December isn't the best time due to some funds paying out capital gains in December...that could leave you with a short term gain right off the bat. Am I misunderstanding what I've read?

IMO, whatever rebalancing mechanism you choose -- whether a fixed time interval or when a certain asset class gets more than a certain percentage out of whack -- the important thing is not to deviate from the mechanism. Otherwise you're adding guesswork as well as emotional feelings of greed and/or fear into your investment decisions, and more often than not that's a loser.

Chaos: December is a particularly bad time to buy funds due to the possibility of them making distributions. Some funds also distribute gains in other months, so always try to check before buying. Your cost basis will go down too, so it's only a temporary loan to the IRS, for as long as you hold those shares. There is no need to be careful within non-taxable accounts.