Remote Deposit Capture

MikeD

Full time employment: Posting here.
I am just getting into paying bills online, either with a credit card or by "Bill Pay" from BoA. My main goal is to save on postage. My wife does all the bills by check and postal mail now. She will still approve them and I will do the actual paying online.

I have found out about scanning in checks with a scanner and doing deposits from home. This would save me about 10 trips to the bank per year. I am mostly interested because I think it's cool. I guess I would still have to go to town for the free notary services...

Does anyone here know which banks support this kind of remote deposit? I have googled it and apparently it's only supported for businesses except for USAA. I don't think I qualify to join USAA as I read the web page.

Are there any other ways to become a USAA member other than being in the service or related to a member? I am in the Navy FCU but by a fluke.

Thanks,
Mike D.

Are you too afraid to mail in deposits? I've been depositing checks by mail since 1973 without problems. I've always had free postage-paid envelopes from any bank I have ever used.

Although mailing is reliable, you might want to make a scanned image or photocopy of checks that you mail. Or at least, the payor, the date, amount, etc. In the unlikely but possible case of lost mail*, you could ask the payor to issue you another check.

*Delivery of first class mail is NOT guaranteed, or so I was once told.