Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-13-2011, 12:20 PM   #21
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by braumeister View Post
I've been using the Windows version of Quicken for several years, because there simply isn't anything else with its range of investment and reporting tools.

I had been running it via VMWare Fusion on my Mac, but recently switched to Parallels Desktop 7 for the virtual machine, and the difference is like night and day. Parallels rocks!
I am also running the Windows version of Quicken on my Mac via Parallels. It works like a charm.
__________________

__________________
FIREd is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-13-2011, 02:09 PM   #22
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Lisa99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Villages
Posts: 1,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimmerbill View Post
I like Mint.com. I don't write that many checks, so no big deal not having an electronic register. I used to use Quicken 2008 (or 07, forgot).
I tried Mint.com today but there are several of our investments that don't support the type of auto-connection that Mint uses for its downloads. I was really disappointed because the register download and budgeting feature was more automated and intuitive than Quicken.

I recently upgraded to Quicken 2011, so guess will stick with it until Mint comes up to speed.
__________________

__________________
Lisa99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 05:36 PM   #23
Recycles dryer sheets
Jake46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Fort Collins
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by braumeister
I've been using the Windows version of Quicken for several years, because there simply isn't anything else with its range of investment and reporting tools.

I had been running it via VMWare Fusion on my Mac, but recently switched to Parallels Desktop 7 for the virtual machine, and the difference is like night and day. Parallels rocks!
Do you have to installl Windows to run Quicken through Parallels?
__________________
Jake46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 06:28 PM   #24
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 8,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake46

Do you have to installl Windows to run Quicken through Parallels?
Yes.
__________________
Pas de lieu Rhône que nous.
braumeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 09:26 PM   #25
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake46 View Post
Do you have to installl Windows to run Quicken through Parallels?
Quote:
Originally Posted by braumeister View Post
Yes.
Or.... maybe not (I have not tried this, but have run a few things with WINE on Linux/Mac).

Quicken can run on Macs | Wine Reviews

CrossOver: Windows emulator for Mac and Linux computers - CodeWeavers

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 08:05 PM   #26
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 103
Horrible reviews usually come from the people who first buy the software and get the bugs out for people like me. I wait until it's almost time for the new year release, then buy the previous year with the bugs fixed at half the price. I'll upgrade every 3 years when they force you to.

I just upgraded to Quicken 2011. Works fine. I could see how someone who doesn't know what they're doing might not like it, but I wouldn't personally view that as the program's fault. My data dates back to the mid 1990s.

Question is, will it convert your year 2000 data? If i had to guess with no knowledge to go on, I'd say the chances are slim.
__________________

__________________
slazenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Online Quicken Software -- now FREE Achiever51 FIRE and Money 10 12-02-2008 07:49 AM
Oh yeah, the cats! HobbyDave Young Dreamers 16 03-28-2007 07:55 PM
Spamming Sh[yster? yeah that's it] problem! brewer12345 Forum Admin 3 07-27-2005 05:28 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:12 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.