Join Early Retirement Today

Roth conversion projected benefit
Old 01-09-2017, 08:00 AM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

Roth conversion projected benefit

I have been doing Roth conversions since 2008, the taxable conversion amounts total $320k and the incremental impact on taxes has been close to $38k. I will be 70 next year and the Roth accounts will have grown to about $600k. If these assets had remained in my tIRA, then they would be hit with RMDs and over the next 15 years (assuming 6% growth) there would be $531k in taxed RMDs plus $682k of assets remaining that would also be taxed beyond age 85. Total 1.2M taxable at whatever rates in affect and I would have been paying taxes on a lot of money I most likely wouldn't need to have withdrawn.
larrytbm is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-09-2017, 08:15 AM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Thanks for posting this. Real world examples are extremely helpful for people in the accumulation phase.
NgineER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 09:54 AM   #3