Join Early Retirement Today

Roth Conversion/Recharacterization strategy finally sunk in
Old 04-02-2017, 08:55 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Roth Conversion/Recharacterization strategy finally sunk in

I've been whittling away at my tIRA for a few years with partial conversions, trying to smooth out my income tax rate over the years, and avoid RMDs later which would probably push me into a higher income tax, especially with more SS benefits getting taxed.

Every year I try to get the conversion amount just right, to the top of the 15% bracket or the edge of the ACA cliff. It's very tough to do since I don't know exactly what my dividends and interest income will be. But I slave to try to get it as close as possible, but every year I either fall short or have to do a small (or not-so-small) recharacterization--usually the latter.

I kept seeing posts here from people who'd convert a larger amount than they know would work, and then recharacterize after doing their taxes. I always dismissed this, thinking recharacterizations are too much trouble. But I inevitably do one anyway, so why go to all the effort.

So this year I finally wised up and converted a larger amount and I know for sure I'll be recharacterizing. It's not that big of a deal and I'm going to do it anyway, so what's the big deal with $10 or $10K on the form? I don't know if it matters but I kept it as simple as possible by converting a holding from the tIRA that I don't already have in the Roth, so I can just rechar part of that holding back. Vanguard will figure it all out anyway.