Join Early Retirement Today

Seeking Advice
Old 12-16-2017, 03:28 PM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.

Seeking Advice

Hi. Newbie here. I believe I am (will be) FI and planning to RE the end of 2018, when I reach 59.5, so I am starting to get my ducks lined up. I have been working on a retirement income plan.

We will have $1.9M essentially all in regular 401Ks. My estimated yearly expenses will be $63K, current dollars. DW, who will work until 62 (2020), has a low-paying ($45K) job.

Goal: Enough in Cash bucket each year to cover expenses, and to have the most possible left over if I hit 100, to pass on.

I am seeking advice from the fine folks here about my Plan A and Plan B...Which is really better, and am I missing some sort of better Plan C?

Plan A
====
As soon as I retire, start converting large sums ($250K) each year from the 401K to a Roth IRA. In 7 years, all will be moved from 401K to Roth IRA. This completely avoids RMDs. During those 7 years, I will also be pulling yearly needs from 401K into Cash bucket. All taxes, which will be quite large those first 7 years, will also be payed from Cash bucket. The 401K and Roth IRA will be set up to produce about 2.5% dividends, which will go into Cash bucket. I won't run out of Cash bucket until I am 89, then I can dip some from Roth IRA.

So, I am basically getting money transferred from 401K to Roth as soon as practical, to avoid RMDs.

My spreadsheet says I will have enough in Cash bucket each year, and have $5.5M left over at 100.

Pros: 1) No Fed taxes after I get everything over to Roth IRA, 2) Larger amount left over than Plan B.

Cons: 1) Paying huge amounts in taxes the first 6 years (but then no RMDs to be taxed on later), 2) Cash bucket has no more than one year's needs, some of the time.

Plan B
====