Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

slice and dice vs. efficient market hypothesis
Old 07-05-2007, 07:03 AM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

slice and dice vs. efficient market hypothesis

I'm still a couple of decades away from retiring, and I have been maintaining a slice-and-dice allocation for the past several years.

However, I've begun to have some doubts about this stategy. If the efficient market hypothesis is valid--that is, if the market efficiently determines the relative prices of publicly traded equities--then why not hold only total-market index funds?

In my case, I'm currently holding U.S. large cap, U.S. large value, U.S. small cap, U.S. small value, REIT's, and energy. I'm thinking of replacing these with total U.S. stock market. Similarly, in international stocks, I'm holding Europe, Pacific, emerging markets, small cap, and value. I would replace these with total international stock market.

I realize that with this new portfolio I would not have done as well over the past several years. But who knows what the future will bring? It seems both simpler and less risky to hold only total-market index funds instead of trying to guess which subsets of the market should be overweighted.

What do you think?
Silhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!