So many calculators, so little time

Live And Learn

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I've used FIRECalc, Vanguards Portfolio Longevity calculator, Fidelity Retirement Income Planner, and T Rowe Price Retirement Income Calculator.

FIRECalc and Fidelity both give me results I like very much ! 90% or better confidence level of my portfolio lasting 35 years (75% of it lasting to 45 years).

Vanguard is more conservative - 80% chance of my portfolio lasting 30 years.

The T Rowe Price calculator is downright depressing, 80% chance of my porfolio lasting 26 years and 40% chance of my portfolio lasting 40 years.

I understand that these calculators are just "tools" but how do you know if you've reached FI with such varying results ?

I'm no expert, but I figure if I can live off the lowest potential return without touching principal, then I'm set. I'm using 2% - 3% in my current calculations. The day will probably come that I have to dig into principal. Perhaps not, if I'm fortunate [or my son is lol]. If I'm REALLY lucky, the principal may increase.

That's just my comfort level. FIRECalc gave me a %100. Haven't tried the others yet.

Calc differences prob have to do with assumptions (e.g. inflation, etc.). I haven't compared calc's exactly, but small differences get magnified a lot projected over 40yrs and range of uncertainty widens a lot. Uncertainty makes it hard to bet your future on one roll of the dice ;)

I understand that these calculators are just "tools" but how do you know if you've reached FI with such varying results ?

Wait 30 years, look back and then you'll know for sure.

Otherwise you have to take your best educated guess. If you knew when you'll die, what returns and actual expenses will be then it would be academic.

You could save up enough to live off returns alone, but then you'll work a lot longer. Perhaps the best bet is not to burn bridges when one retires, just in case.