Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Software or Online Site to Analyze Multiple Accounts as One?
Old 10-19-2014, 01:22 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
fidler4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 210
Software or Online Site to Analyze Multiple Accounts as One?

Can anyone recommend a web site or software that can bring together several retirement accounts to show what the total asset allocation is?

My wife and I have 3 separate retirement accounts each (Roth IRA, Traditional IRA & 457b). Each of the accounts is invested in various Vanguard Index Funds. All of the IRA's are Vanguard. What I currently do is put everything into Excel to determine what the overall AA is for the accounts. I list each account, the funds then whether its a Bond ,Dom Stock, or Intl Stock.

Is there a site someone could recommend where I can input the various funds and have it give me an asset allocation?

Thanks


Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum
__________________

__________________
fidler4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-19-2014, 01:25 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
steelyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Triangle
Posts: 3,218
Morningstar's Portfolio X-Ray might be what you're looking for.
__________________

__________________

steelyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 02:01 PM   #3
Recycles dryer sheets
fidler4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 210
Thanks Steelyman that is exactly what I was looking for. This is going to be easier than my Excel method.


Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum
__________________
fidler4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 02:05 PM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
steelyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Triangle
Posts: 3,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by fidler4 View Post
Thanks Steelyman that is exactly what I was looking for. This is going to be easier than my Excel method.


Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum

Great! Y'welcome. That's why you're here (plus to read the ridiculous things we post )
__________________

steelyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 10:57 PM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,280
Or you could give access to your accounts to CNN Portfolio and/or Personal Capital:

https://portfolio.money.cnn.com/
https://www.personalcapital.com/

Then it would be automatic and provide much more (and more useful) data in real time.
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 11:10 PM   #6
Recycles dryer sheets
fidler4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
Or you could give access to your accounts to CNN Portfolio and/or Personal Capital:

https://portfolio.money.cnn.com/
https://www.personalcapital.com/

Then it would be automatic and provide much more (and more useful) data in real time.
Thanks RB those also look good.
__________________
fidler4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 07:11 AM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
pb4uski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vermont & Sarasota, FL
Posts: 16,481
I define all my accounts in Vanguard and link DW's accounts so when i run a Vanguard Portfolio Watch report it includes all of our accounts. Easy. Updates itself and easier than reentering everything in X-Ray.
__________________
If something cannot endure laughter.... it cannot endure.
Patience is the art of concealing your impatience.
Slow and steady wins the race.
pb4uski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 08:36 AM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,280
FWIW, here are screenshots of our Portfolio(s) in the CNN application.

Personal Capital gives MUCH more data along with tracking e-mails on all accounts (including Checking, for instance).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CNN-1.JPG (75.5 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg CNN-2.JPG (226.8 KB, 21 views)
File Type: jpg CNN-3.JPG (121.6 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg CNN-4.JPG (89.3 KB, 14 views)
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 09:34 AM   #9
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 731
So this is the part that gets me nervous:
Quote:
Or you could give access to your accounts to CNN Portfolio and/or Personal Capital


What does the fine print say for these sites regarding any liability if the site is hacked and your username and passwords are stolen? Or, is it just me being overly paranoid these days?
__________________
BBQ-Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 12:43 PM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ-Nut View Post
So this is the part that gets me nervous:

What does the fine print say for these sites regarding any liability if the site is hacked and your username and passwords are stolen? Or, is it just me being overly paranoid these days?
No, it is not you alone. This is mentioned quite often. I have used both services for about five years now with no bumps. They (and several pundits) tell me they use the same service that the major banks, credit card companies, brokerages, etc. use -- they, of course, share all your data amongst themselves.

So if you live in a cave and have never shared any information, you are good to go. Otherwise, you should do the research yourself and not take my comfort as permission granted.

(BTW, I have no financial or any other-than-user relationship with either company -- I don't even have stock in them unless it is hidden in a fund.)
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 01:31 PM   #11
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Cobra9777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ-Nut View Post
So this is the part that gets me nervous:

What does the fine print say for these sites regarding any liability if the site is hacked and your username and passwords are stolen? Or, is it just me being overly paranoid these days?
I was nervous about this also and resisted for many years. But I was also nervous about using my credit card to make online purchases in 1999, and I eventually got over that. As did most everyone.

Personal Capital was founded by Bill Harris, former CEO of Intuit and Paypal. He's also been with several other companies involved in computer, financial, and network security. They reportedly use technology and processes, same as most banks or brokerage houses. So I trust the security (at least as much as I do a bank), and I've been using these services since I dumped Quicken a couple years ago.

I have experience with Mint, Fidelity Full View (w/ GPS), and Personal Capital. I also did a trial subscription at Morningstar for the portfolio manager w/ X-ray, etc. I found X-ray to be no better than free services like GPS and Personal Capital, so I canceled before the trial period ended. Mint is very good for expense tracking, budgeting, debt reduction, etc. But is lacking on investment analytics. Fidelity Full-View with GPS is also very good, but I've had problems such as having a particular investment show up as "unknown" in the asset allocation, with no ability to correct or override.

Personal Capital seems to work the best for me. It's a bit lacking on transaction tracking, but mainly little things like no ability to split a transaction into two accounts or categories. Also, no budgeting capability. But I find the portfolio analytics to be excellent... asset allocation down to individual securities, developed/emerging, sectors, efficient frontier, fees, ERs, yields, performance metrics, tax efficiency.

I can certainly relate to the security concerns. But if you can get past that, these tools are an excellent free resource.
__________________
Retired at 52 in July 2013. On to better things...
AA: 55% stock, 15% real estate, 27% bonds, 3% cash
WR: 2.0% SI: 2 pensions, some rental income, SS later
Cobra9777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 02:17 PM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,709
When you use a tracking option like personal capital, and allow it to login to your accounts, can you inform the software that your 401k fund x is just like Vanguard Developed Markets? Or, will it only analyze investments with symbols?
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 02:53 PM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Cobra9777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by target2019 View Post
When you use a tracking option like personal capital, and allow it to login to your accounts, can you inform the software that your 401k fund x is just like Vanguard Developed Markets? Or, will it only analyze investments with symbols?
Yes, with Personal Capital, you can set up an investment holding with no ticker symbol, and assign it whatever asset classes you want. For equities, you can also assign sectors. This allows it to show up correctly in the asset allocation and portfolio analytics. You can do this manually or by specifying a ticker (or mix of tickers) to represent your holding.

DW is still working and I use this for her vested pension lump sum. I assigned asset classes/sectors according to the pension's underlying portfolio. I also set up our rental houses as investments using this capability. They show up in the allocation as Alternatives/Real Estate.

Of course, this is manual and both the value and allocation must be maintained. The system works more efficiently with actual ticker symbols. But for those cases where there is no ticker, you do have the capability to manually assign asset class and sector.
__________________
Retired at 52 in July 2013. On to better things...
AA: 55% stock, 15% real estate, 27% bonds, 3% cash
WR: 2.0% SI: 2 pensions, some rental income, SS later
Cobra9777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 04:37 PM   #14
Moderator
MBAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,164
Thanks for the info on Personal Capital - somehow I've never heard of it before and it looks interesting. I've been using Morningstar X-Ray but I'm not thrilled with either the interface or the reporting.
__________________
"One of the funny things about the stock market is that every time one person buys, another sells, and both think they are astute." William Feather
----------------------------------
ER'd Oct. 2010 at 53. Life is good.
MBAustin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 04:49 PM   #15
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra9777 View Post
Yes, with Personal Capital, you can set up an investment holding with no ticker symbol, and assign it whatever asset classes you want. For equities, you can also assign sectors. This allows it to show up correctly in the asset allocation and portfolio analytics. You can do this manually or by specifying a ticker (or mix of tickers) to represent your holding.

DW is still working and I use this for her vested pension lump sum. I assigned asset classes/sectors according to the pension's underlying portfolio. I also set up our rental houses as investments using this capability. They show up in the allocation as Alternatives/Real Estate.

Of course, this is manual and both the value and allocation must be maintained. The system works more efficiently with actual ticker symbols. But for those cases where there is no ticker, you do have the capability to manually assign asset class and sector.
Thanks for replying.

OK, to be clear, you have to manually enter the information in this case, and personal capital can't login to the account and automatically capture the total, fund by fund.

Or am I misunderstanding?

Vanguard can login to my 401k, for contrast, and tell me the fund names and balances. But it does not allocate these to a class.
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 05:22 PM   #16
Recycles dryer sheets
Mo Money's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: .
Posts: 269
I am a big fan of Personal Capital, discussed by Cobra9777 above. Have used it for about 9 months now.
__________________
We always may be what we might have been. -- Adelaide Anne Procter
Mo Money is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 05:39 PM   #17
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Cobra9777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by target2019 View Post
OK, to be clear, you have to manually enter the information in this case, and personal capital can't login to the account and automatically capture the total, fund by fund.

Or am I misunderstanding?

Vanguard can login to my 401k, for contrast, and tell me the fund names and balances. But it does not allocate these to a class.
Let me clarify...

If you have a 401K or any account at a major financial institution, PC will login to your account, and automatically pull in all information pertaining to your account and investment holdings. As long as this information includes a valid ticker symbol for each of your holdings, all of the asset allocation and other portfolio analytics are fully automated. Nothing needs to be entered manually.

Your original question was related to those rare cases where there is no valid ticker symbol, such as for privately held funds. Or at least that's how I interpreted it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by target2019 View Post
When you use a tracking option like personal capital, and allow it to login to your accounts, can you inform the software that your 401k fund x is just like Vanguard Developed Markets? Or, will it only analyze investments with symbols?
In such cases, the amount will be imported, but PC will show it as "unclassified" in the asset allocation. As I described previously, this can be correctly classified either by specifying a representative ticker (or mix of tickers), or by manually entering the percentages of each asset class and sector.

If PC has no ability to link with the institution where your holdings are, then you will need to manually enter all the information including shares, amount, and classes. I think this is the more common case of manual investments, such as I described for my wife's pension and our rental houses. Most financial institutions will include valid tickers and everything will work fine.
__________________
Retired at 52 in July 2013. On to better things...
AA: 55% stock, 15% real estate, 27% bonds, 3% cash
WR: 2.0% SI: 2 pensions, some rental income, SS later
Cobra9777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 07:58 PM   #18
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra9777 View Post
Let me clarify...

If you have a 401K or any account at a major financial institution, PC will login to your account, and automatically pull in all information pertaining to your account and investment holdings. As long as this information includes a valid ticker symbol for each of your holdings, all of the asset allocation and other portfolio analytics are fully automated. Nothing needs to be entered manually.

Your original question was related to those rare cases where there is no valid ticker symbol, such as for privately held funds. Or at least that's how I interpreted it...



In such cases, the amount will be imported, but PC will show it as "unclassified" in the asset allocation. As I described previously, this can be correctly classified either by specifying a representative ticker (or mix of tickers), or by manually entering the percentages of each asset class and sector.

If PC has no ability to link with the institution where your holdings are, then you will need to manually enter all the information including shares, amount, and classes. I think this is the more common case of manual investments, such as I described for my wife's pension and our rental houses. Most financial institutions will include valid tickers and everything will work fine.
Thank you for the explanation. I was misunderstanding things.
I will give this a try when I get some extra time.
__________________

__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help Consolidating multiple accounts KB FIRE and Money 17 12-30-2009 10:03 PM
Multiple Health Savings Accounts??? Jeb-NY FIRE and Money 11 01-26-2009 08:15 PM
Multiple accounts nun FIRE and Money 2 03-19-2006 10:38 AM
The "Analyze Now" web site RedOscar Other topics 2 07-15-2002 04:14 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:26 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.